The other woman…… A.k.a ….kittycat :)

Imagine you are in bed with the love of your life and all you want to do is snuggle up and fall asleep in each others arms and all of a sudden you are interrupted by a loud meow and a thud on the bed. This usually happens to me every single night. I have a cat named shadow. She has been with me for over 15 years. She is a very loving and loyal pet. The funny thing is that when Steven and I moved in together things with her changed. It was funny in the beginning because Steven hates cats and all shadow wanted to do was be near him. But one day all of that changed. All of a sudden shadow was Steve’s entire world. They snuggled together all the time. Wherever Steve went, shadow went. She would meow at him to pet her and she was always purring even if Steve just looked at her. Of course she used to be that way with me but there is something about Steve that makes her only think of him and no one else. As my dad would say ” she doesn’t talk to us anymore” lol….. I’m not saying I’m jealous…. but I’m jealous!!. She has been through all kinds of things with me and the girls. It’s almost like a slap in the face. Like she’s saying ” who cares about you… you only feed me and shelter me and have my back all the time”.  Don’t get me wrong, I can hear how stupid this all sounds, and maybe crazy lol but I can’t deny how much it irritates me! I love both of them with all my heart but now they are choosing each other over me.  Shadow has literally become the other woman in our lives.

The worst part of it all is the constant meowing she does at night. Just imagine….you’re almost asleep and all of a sudden there is obnoxious meowing coming from upstairs. Then it makes its way downstairs. That happens more times than I can count throughout the night. And then….. the icing on the cake. She carries all our shoes downstairs to our room for Steve as gifts!! They are EVERYWHERE. Usually if you ever have to get up in the middle of the night you know the pathway to the bathroom pretty good. Well,  not us. Its lights on so you can see the obstacle course you have in front of you just to friggen go pee!!

shadow9

The picture doesn’t do it justice but I’m sure you can imagine what happens after 8 hours of prime shoe carrying time 🙂

Anyway after she brings him all the gifts she finally tries to decide where she will be sleeping. There are a few positions she prefers. She likes sleeping on Steve’s pillow but when he kicks her off then she sneaks under the blanket or on my hip or across my shoulder! But of course she settles with sleeping on my pillow purring in my ear and knitting her claws in my hair! Basically Steve gets all the love and loyalty from her and I get the annoying side of her. Does anyone else see how unfair that is?? lol….

I guess in the end it makes sense why she loves him as much as she does. He spoils her and loves her very much. It’s not very manly and he’s probably gonna be pissed at me for talking about it but seriously…. its adorable and maddening at the same time!! I am a very lucky woman to have the other woman be a cat and I do count my blessings about that for sure but its time everyone else knew what was going on lol…  In reading this back it definitely sounds like I’m crazy but I’m sure I’m not the only one who has weird stories about their pets…. feel free to share them and lets all have a good laugh together 🙂 🙂

2 thoughts on “The other woman…… A.k.a ….kittycat :)

Leave a Reply

