Mother Daughter DIY project…… gone wrong?

Last week Julia came to me with this idea she had to do a DIY project for our cats. She had seen this 5 minute craft video on how to create a sort of jungle gym for the them. As I knew March break was around the corner I thought yeah why not. It would be something we could do together and it may even stop the cats from scratching everything else. I watched the little video and it seemed simple enough. All I would need was a box and a trip to the dollar store. Easy right? Well at least that’s what I thought.Β  project7

After stopping at a storage place to purchase a box, which was $6 dollars, and spending $25 dollars on our trip to the dollar store for our supplies, we went home to get started πŸ™‚ I laid everything out and went over the instructions with Julia on how she wanted the final product to look. We were both pretty exited at this point. We taped the box and cut out the holes perfectly and started painting it together. We were having fun! It looked like this project was going to be a quick success. project5

We quit for the night to let the paint dry. The next day I knew that it was going to be more MY participation as we had to use a glue gun to glue the rope on the sides of the box. At first I thought well this isn’t so bad… the rope I have should be enough for all sides. Well wasn’t I dead wrong!! I had one spool of rope that I paid $ 4 dollars for and it was enough for only one side! And not to mention it took me sooooo long to glue it on! I had one side on and Julia was laughing because I thought I would have enough. Well I wasn’t laughing. Not only did I have to go back to the dollar store to get 3 more spools of rope but that was another $12 I spent on this project! So back at it I went. It took me 2 days to finish it all. project3

Once I had calmed down about the rope and we started figuring out how we were going to decorate it, it became a fun project despite my doubts…:) There were a couple of times I wanted to give up but I saw things through to the finish line. Obviously the best part of this whole experience was being able to come up with the project with Julia but seeing her bring this whole thing together and complete it showed me how smart she is and that makes me the proudest mom ever!project2

Once the project was complete we sat back and watched to see what the cats would do. Going into thisΒ I had a suspicious feeling they would not give a crap what it was they were going to continue to scratch my furniture like the good loving cats they are…..and guess what happened?? They sniffed it, looked at it like “what the hell is this and who are you trying to impress” and walked away.Β  I looked at Julia and said” aren’t mother daughter DIY projects so much fun!!” We had a great big laugh together, then grabbed all the chocolate we could find in the house and watched the voice like any good mother daughter duo should πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

4 thoughts on “Mother Daughter DIY project…… gone wrong?

Leave a Reply

