Laundry vs. Hydro…..a stay at home mom’s nightmare

The other day I was doing laundry…. as usual. In the middle of folding the dry load I had a realization.  I do most,  if not all of my laundry during the day when the kids are at school. If I didn’t do that not only would the laundry pile up but I would never have the time to be doing it at night. With all the after school activities, dinner and homework, I’m beat by the end of the night and the last thing I would want to do would be LAUNDRY! As a stay at home mom I’m always scheduling things. I like to think about ways to make our lives easier but I also like to have alone time at night and have a bubble bath with a giant glass of red wine on ice lol…..So during my realization I weighed the pros and cons of trying to do my laundry at night which according to the peak times hydro provides is the CHEAPEST time to do so. All I could think about is where the hell does hydro get their information. There are a lot of stay at home mom’s that have the same routine as me. Can you imagine if we all stayed up really late to do laundry because its cheaper?? Not only would we be useless to our kids because of lack of sleep but we would never be able to fit in time for just ourselves. Every mom needs alone time. I am not prepared to sacrifice my adult time to save a few bucks. Why wouldn’t hydro realize that the majority of people do their laundry during the day ? It would  make it cheaper and it  would cut down all these crazy costs they keep saying they will cut down for us working class people if they realized how much it would help families with a stay at home mom to make it low peak time during the day or flat rate.ontario-hydro-prices

I don’t usually get involved with all the media controversy and emotions that surround the issues with Ontario Hydro but all I kept thinking about was how stupid can they be? I mean really…. something so simple as flat rate hydro times can get THIS stay at home mom thinking then why can’t THEY realize it?? At any rate it was a serious realization for me that it doesn’t matter in the end. I will stick to my routine of afternoon laundry to keep not only my sanity but my family’s too. They need me to have my own time at night as much as me 🙂 Don’t get me wrong it would be amazing to save a few bucks but what I have to say about it in the grand scheme of things doesn’t really matter. Hydro will keep rising. No matter who we elect or what people think can be changed or bettered. We live in a time where people use way too many things that need to be plugged in. We rely too much on it. We have lost ourselves to technology and there are not a lot of people realizing it. So the only thing I can do is rant about it. I’d like to think that what I have to say will change the world some day with all my opinions lol…. but the only thing it will do is help my kids realize it. I guess the whole point to my rant or ” realization” is that I have got lots of things on my plate but laundry at night isn’t one of them!!……..:)maxresdefault

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

